Are you Accountable or Responsible?

Accountability relates to rules, Responsibility relates to care…interesting.

Cultivating Learning

Lately I have been thinking about this idea of accountability and responsibility. There is a lot of talk and action around making teachers accountable for the outcomes of their students and  leaders being accountable for the outcomes of staff and school performance.

Trying to get staff motivated to develop their skills and improve their practice has meant I have had to look closely at how I can do this.  In my own classroom one of my strengths is to respond to the needs and interests of my students.  The relationships and connections I make with them and their families impacts directly on how I engage them in learning. I have had great success with students whom have been disconnected from learning or had poor school experiences in the past.

So why is it that I approach connecting with staff in their learning differently?

I think it boils down to my…

View original post 365 more words

Leave a Reply

